Philipsburg Chamber of Commerce
Long the county seat of Granite, Philipsburg has a rich history of mining and ranching. Officially registered as a town in 1867 and incorporated in 1890, Philipsburg was named after Philip Deidesheimer, a prominent mining engineer who hailed from Nevada. The town prospered as a booming mining community until the Silver Crash of 1893, which forced the mills to close. Most of the population vanished overnight, rendering Philipsburg and the surrounding area a ghost town.
Over the years, Philipsburg has evolved into a thriving community with a vibrant sense of history. Today, we celebrate our roots in a variety of ways, through ranching, sapphire mining, and commemorating our past in our museum and cultural center. What began as a boom town is recognized and appreciated by outdoor enthusiasts for its natural wellspring of lakes, rivers, streams, and panoramic mountains. In 1997 and again in 2000, Philipsburg was named a finalist in a contest for Prettiest Painted Places in America.